Wushu cames in West Bengal by the sincere efforts made by Sri Shambhu Seth the Founder & General Secretary of the Wushu Association of West Bengal, Wushu Association of West Bengal is a affiliated unit of Wushu Association of India & Bengal Olympic Association.

Wushu is the Traditional Chinese Martial Art popularly known as "Kung fu"it has cross The Great Wall of China and now it has spread throughout every Parts of the world Wushu like application of presence of mind and decision-making temperament. It helps the person to develop fitness of mind and body. It also develops the immense system and releases tension and stress Moreover. It provides the knowledge of self-defense. Wushu is categorized into two main categories, namely Taolu (Routines Competition) and Sanda (Free Fighting Competition).

Wushu came in India in 1989 since then 26th Senior National championships, 16th Junior National Championships & 17th Sub Junior National Wushu Championships have been successfully conducted. Wushu is the Priority Sports in The Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, HRD Govt. of India and officially recognized in 1993 & Indian Olympic Association affiliated Wushu Association of India in 2006. Wushu is a regular event in School National Games, National Games and regular courses have been offered by sports Authority of India in Wushu at NS NIS Patiala.

44 units are presently affiliated with Wushu Association of India including Departmental organizations ie Services Sports Control Board, ITBP, CRPF, Assam Riffles, SSB, All India Police Sports Control Board and Union Territories and also included in Khelo India & University Games.

Wushu is “A” category of martial- art not only that Wushu is included as regular event in Asian Games, SAF Games, National Games, National School Games and our Bengal Olympic Association events and is affiliated to Indian Olympic Association and recognized by International Olympic Council.

Sandhya Rani becomes first Indian Wushu Player who got Arjuna Award Second M. Bimoljit Singh and Third Yumnam Sanathoi Devi.